Northward migration: British Columbia

Just a few photos and highlights of my journey to Wrangell.

Dad and I left Ferndale on Thursday morning, ultimately headed north on the Trans-Canada highway. We got out of the lush greenness of western BC and found ourselves in a landscape that more closely resembles the eastern Sierra Nevadas. There were old abandoned barns, tiny churches and lots of transmission lines.

Not what I was expecting from British Columbia, but I like it all the same.

Not what I was expecting from British Columbia, but I like it all the same.

We stayed the night in Prince George, and headed west towards Prince Rupert on Friday. The second leg of the drive followed the Skeena River for the home stretch — a very beautiful drive indeed. We even saw (my first) grizzly bear! He was just hanging out on the side of the road, chomping on some vegetation.

The Skeena River and the Yellowhead Highway.

The Skeena River and the Yellowhead Highway.

 

Dad and I, en route to Prince Rupert and points beyond.

Dad and I, en route to Prince Rupert and points beyond.

 

Hey, bear.

Hey, bear.

 

4 thoughts on “Northward migration: British Columbia

  1. When taking “selfies” you shouldn’t stand so close to the bear. He might bite! 🙂 Glad you had a good trip

Leave a Reply

